Many minimum-wage workers in Florida, who are currently earning $8.65 per hour, will soon be seeing bigger paychecks. This month, the minimum wage in Florida will increase to $10 per hour for hourly employees and will continue to increase until it hits $15 per hour in 2026. Wages will rise for restaurant workers, bartenders and other tipped employees as well to $6.98. This increase comes as a result of an amendment to the state constitution, Amendment 2, approved by voters in November of last year.
Unfortunately, despite the mandates for certain employers, minimum wage violations do occur. According to the Economic Policy institute, minimum wage violations affect approximately 25 percent of low-wage/minimum-wage workers in Florida, costing them over $1.1 billion per year.
Ways employers skirt minimum wage mandates
Referred to as “wage theft,” some employers skirt the rules and fail to pay their employees the mandated minimum wage stipulated under the law. Some employers force workers to complete tasks off the clock before or after work, others take tips employees rightfully earn and others alter working hours to avoid paying overtime.
Fortunately, with the help of an attorney experienced in wage and hour issues, employees can seek to recoup the wages they are owed if a violation is found to have occurred. However, there are certain timeframes in which to file and each differs depending on the circumstance. Seeking guidance sooner than later is advised.