In our post last week, our blog discussed how there is currently movement, albeit limited, in Tallahassee to raise the minimum wage here in Florida from $8.05 per hour to as much as $15 per hour.
When it comes to the minimum wage, cities and states across the nation have recently made remarkable strides, with workers struggling to make ends meet in otherwise difficult positions now finding themselves with slightly larger checks at the end of each pay period.
It goes without saying that on Friday mornings, most people are not just looking forward to planning for the upcoming weekend, but also cashing their hard-earned paychecks.
As we have previously discussed in this Broward County Employment Law Blog, several Florida counties have enacted or worked on local ordinances regarding wages and sick time. In Miami-Dade and Broward counties, ordinances exist that require companies that work with the counties to pay workers wages that are higher than the federal minimum wage. In Orange County, a bill has been introduced that would require many businesses to offer paid sick time to employees. The Florida House has now passed a bill that would prevent county governments from enacting such ordinances.
Broward County might be the first county in Florida to implement a wage theft ordinance in the aftermath of a report that called the state the 15th worst in the nation when it comes to workers' abilities to recover unpaid wages. Broward County currently has the third largest number of wage-theft cases--those that involve workers not being paid overtime or minimum wage, being forced to work off the clock, or not being paid at all--in the state.